A Proposal for a Study on Treatment Selection and Lifestyle Recommendations in Chronic Inflammatory Diseases: A Danish Multidisciplinary Collaboration on Prognostic Factors and Personalised Medicine

Research output: Contribution to journal/Conference contribution in journal/Contribution to newspaperJournal articleResearchpeer-review

DOI

  • Vibeke Andersen, Focused Research Unit for Molecular Diagnostic and Clinical Research, IRS-Center Sonderjylland, Hospital of Southern Jutland, 6200 Aabenraa, Denmark. vandersen@health.sdu.dk.
  • ,
  • Uffe Holmskov, Institute of Molecular Medicine, University of Southern Denmark, 5000 Odense, Denmark. uholmskov@health.sdu.dk.
  • ,
  • Signe Bek Sørensen, Focused Research Unit for Molecular Diagnostic and Clinical Research, IRS-Center Sonderjylland, Hospital of Southern Jutland, 6200 Aabenraa, Denmark. Signe.Bek.Sørensen@rsyd.dk.
  • ,
  • Mohamad Jawhara, Focused Research Unit for Molecular Diagnostic and Clinical Research, IRS-Center Sonderjylland, Hospital of Southern Jutland, 6200 Aabenraa, Denmark. Mohamad.Jawhara@rsyd.dk.
  • ,
  • Karina W Andersen, Focused Research Unit for Molecular Diagnostic and Clinical Research, IRS-Center Sonderjylland, Hospital of Southern Jutland, 6200 Aabenraa, Denmark. Karina.Winther.Andersen@rsyd.dk.
  • ,
  • Anette Bygum, Department of Dermatology and Allergy Centre, Odense University Hospital, 5000 Odense, Denmark. Anette.Bygum@rsyd.dk.
  • ,
  • Lone Hvid, Department of Dermatology and Allergy Centre, Odense University Hospital, 5000 Odense, Denmark. Lone.Hvid@rsyd.dk.
  • ,
  • Jakob Grauslund, Department of Clinical Research, University of Southern Denmark, 5000 Odense, Denmark. Jakob.Grauslund@rsyd.dk., Department of Ophthalmology, Odense University Hospital, 5000 Odense, Denmark. Jakob.Grauslund@rsyd.dk.
  • ,
  • Jimmi Wied, Department of Ophthalmology, Odense University Hospital, 5000 Odense, Denmark. jwied@health.sdu.dk.
  • ,
  • Henning Glerup
  • ,
  • Ulrich Fredberg
  • Jan Alexander Villadsen, Diagnostic Centre, Silkeborg Regional Hospital, University of Aarhus, 8600 Silkeborg, Denmark. janvilla@rm.dk.
  • ,
  • Søren Geill Kjær
  • ,
  • Jan Fallingborg, Department of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Aalborg University Hospital, 9100 Aalborg, Denmark. jaf@rm.dk.
  • ,
  • Seyed A G R Moghadd, Department of Internal Medicine, Regional Hospital Herning, 7400 Herning, Denmark. seyeghan@rm.dk.
  • ,
  • Torben Knudsen, Department of Gastroenterology Hospital of South West Jutland, 6700 Esbjerg, Denmark. Torben.Knudsen@rsyd.dk.
  • ,
  • Jacob Brodersen, Department of Gastroenterology Hospital of South West Jutland, 6700 Esbjerg, Denmark. Jacob.Broder.Brodersen@rsyd.dk.
  • ,
  • Jesper Frøjk, Department of Gastroenterology Hospital of South West Jutland, 6700 Esbjerg, Denmark. Jesper.Frojk2@rsyd.dk.
  • ,
  • Jens F Dahlerup
  • Ole Haagen Nielsen, Department of Gastroenterology D112, Herlev Hospital, University of Copenhagen, 2730 Herlev, Denmark. Ole.Haagen.Nielsen@regionh.dk.
  • ,
  • Robin Christensen, Musculoskeletal Statistics Unit, The Parker Institute, Bispebjerg and Frederiksberg Hospital, 2000 Frederiksberg, Denmark. Robin.Christensen@regionh.dk.
  • ,
  • Anders Bo Bojesen, Focused Research Unit for Molecular Diagnostic and Clinical Research, IRS-Center Sonderjylland, Hospital of Southern Jutland, 6200 Aabenraa, Denmark. Anders.Bo.Bojesen@rsyd.dk.
  • ,
  • Grith Lykke Sorensen, Institute of Molecular Medicine, University of Southern Denmark, 5000 Odense, Denmark. GLSorensen@health.sdu.dk.
  • ,
  • Steffen Thiel
  • Nils J. Færgeman, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Villum Center for Bioanalytical Sciences, University of Southern Denmark, 5000 Odense, Denmark. Nils.F@bmb.sdu.dk.
  • ,
  • Ivan Brandslund, Department of Clinical Biochemistry, Vejle Hospital, 7100 Vejle, Denmark. Ivan.Brandslund@rsyd.dk.
  • ,
  • Allan Stensballe
  • Erik Berg Schmidt, Department of Cardiology, Aalborg University Hospital, 9100 Aalborg, Denmark. ebs@rn.dk.
  • ,
  • Andre Franke, Institute of Clinical Molecular Biology, Christian-Albrechts-University of Kiel, 24105 Kiel, Germany. a.franke@mucose.de.
  • ,
  • David Ellinghaus, Institute of Clinical Molecular Biology, Christian-Albrechts-University of Kiel, 24105 Kiel, Germany. d.ellinghaus@ikmb.uni-kiel.de.
  • ,
  • Philip Rosenstiel, Institute of Clinical Molecular Biology, Christian-Albrechts-University of Kiel, 24105 Kiel, Germany. p.rosenstiel@mucosa.de.
  • ,
  • Jeroen Raes, VIB Center for Microbiology, 3000 Leuven, Belgium. jeroen.raes@kuleuven.be.
  • ,
  • Berit Heitmann, Department of Public Health, Section for General Medicine, University of Copenhagen, 1353 Copenhagen, Denmark. Berit.Lilienthal.Heitmann@regionh.dk., Research Unit for Dietary Studies, The Parker Institute, Bispebjerg and Frederiksberg Hospital, Part of the Copenhagen University Hospital, 2000 Frederiksberg, Denmark. Berit.Lilienthal.Heitmann@regionh.dk.
  • ,
  • Mette Boye, Focused Research Unit for Molecular Diagnostic and Clinical Research, IRS-Center Sonderjylland, Hospital of Southern Jutland, 6200 Aabenraa, Denmark. Mette.Boye@rsyd.dk.
  • ,
  • Charlotte Lindgaard Nielsen, The Danish Colitis-Crohn Association, 5000 Odense, Denmark. info@ccf.dk.
  • ,
  • Lars Werner, The Danish Psoriasis Association, 2630 Tåstrup, Denmark. lw@psoriasis.dk.
  • ,
  • Jens Kjeldsen, Department of Medical Gastroenterology, Odense University Hospital, 5000 Odense, Denmark. Jens.Kjeldsen@rsyd.dk.
  • ,
  • Torkell Ellingsen, Department of Rheumatology, Odense University Hospital, 5000 Odense, Denmark. Torkell.Ellingsen@rsyd.dk.

Chronic inflammatory diseases (CIDs), including Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis (inflammatory bowel diseases, IBD), rheumatoid arthritis, psoriasis, psoriatic arthritis, spondyloarthritides, hidradenitis suppurativa, and immune-mediated uveitis, are treated with biologics targeting the pro-inflammatory molecule tumour necrosis factor-α (TNF) (i.e., TNF inhibitors). Approximately one-third of the patients do not respond to the treatment. Genetics and lifestyle may affect the treatment results. The aims of this multidisciplinary collaboration are to identify (1) molecular signatures of prognostic value to help tailor treatment decisions to an individual likely to initiate TNF inhibitor therapy, followed by (2) lifestyle factors that support achievement of optimised treatment outcome. This report describes the establishment of a cohort that aims to obtain this information. Clinical data including lifestyle and treatment response and biological specimens (blood, faeces, urine, and, in IBD patients, intestinal biopsies) are sampled prior to and while on TNF inhibitor therapy. Both hypothesis-driven and data-driven analyses will be performed according to pre-specified protocols including pathway analyses resulting from candidate gene expression analyses and global approaches (e.g., metabolomics, metagenomics, proteomics). The final purpose is to improve the lives of patients suffering from CIDs, by providing tools facilitating treatment selection and dietary recommendations likely to improve the clinical outcome.

Original languageEnglish
Article number499
JournalNutrients
Volume9
Issue5
ISSN2072-6643
DOIs
Publication statusPublished - 15 May 2017

    Research areas

  • Journal Article

See relations at Aarhus University Citationformats

ID: 114345957