Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Leif Østergaard

Clinical Professor, Professor


2000Doctorate in Medical Science (Dr.Med.Sci.), Faculty of Health Sciences, Aarhus University
1994-2000Ph.D., Faculty of Health Sciences, Aarhus University
1987-1994M.D., Faculty of Health Science, Aarhus University
1991-1992Diploma in Medical Research, Faculty of Health Sciences, Aarhus University
1991-1992M.Sc., Astrophysics and Experimental Physics, Aarhus University
1984-1987Bachelor of Science, Mathematic and Physics, Aarhus University

Employment History

2009-nowClinical Professor (tenured), experimental neuroradiology, Department of Neuroradiology, Institute of Clinical Medicine, Aarhus University
2003-nowConsultant, Head of Neuroradiology Research Unit, Department of Neuroradiology, Aarhus University Hospital
2009-nowDirector, MINDLab. The Danish Agency for Research and Educations UNIK (University Investment Capital) at Aarhus University
2008-nowDirector, MINDLab. National Experimental Core Facility for Neuroscience and Cognition Research, CFIN, Aarhus University and Aarhus University Hospital.
2004-nowDirector, Center of Functionally Integrative Neuroscience (CFIN), Aarhus University
2003-2009Research Professor, Experimental Neuroradiology, Department of Neuroradiology, Aarhus University
2000-2003Associate Professsor, Aarhus University. Center-of-Excellence grant from Danish Medical Research Council
2000-2003Staff Specialist, Department of Neuroradiology, Aarhus University Hospital
1999-2000Internship, Departments of Surgery and Medicine, Grenaa Hospital
1994-1999Research Fellow, Department of Neuroradiology, Aarhus University Hospital


2014The Danish Alzheimer Research Foundations Research Prize, awarded for ‘Outstanding Basic Research within Neuroimaging and within Capillary Dysfunction in Alzheimer’s Disease”
2013Monrad-Krohn’s Prize, awarded by the Medical Faculty at the University of Oslo, Norway, awarded for ‘Outstanding basic and clinical research within the cerebral circulation’. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet
2009Jointly awarded to the Departments of Neurology and Neuroradiology for introducing cutting-edge neuroimaging methods and demonstrating the resulting improved quality-of-care and cost-effectiveness as part of the clinical implementation of thrombolysis at Aarhus University Hospital.
2008The Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation’s Elite Research Prize after recommendations by the Danish Agencies for Independent Research, honoring “Young, internationally outstanding scientist who made extraordinary contributions to strengthen Danish Science”Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet