Jørgen Frøkiær

Head of Department, Clinical Professor and Chair

Curriculum Vitae

Jørgen Frøkiær

Day of birth
12. maj 1956

2023 4527 - 93521789 (Management secretary Julie Harriet Pedersen)


Current position
Head of Department, Department of Clinical Medicine, Aarhus University 

Education and academic positions

  • MD from Aarhus University (1986)
  • Medical Doctorate (Degree of Medical Science) DMSci from Aarhus University (1998)
  • Authorization as specialist in Clinical Physiology and Nuclear Medicine (1998)
  • Research Stipend, Aarhus University (1987-1990)
  • Senior Research Stipend, Aarhus University (1990-1992)
  • Sebattical Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA (1991)
  • Associate Professor, Aarhus University (1998)
  • Research Consultant (1999-2004)
  • Professor in Clinical Physiology and Pathophysiology (2004-2012)
  • Professor and head of Department (2012-)


Research profile

Molecular and functional imaging of cardiovascular diseases (PET, MRI and Nuclear Medicine) and clinical physiology. Kidney, heart and pediatric diseases. Molecular, physiological and pathophysiological studies of complex kidney diseases in both experimental animals and patients. Especially focus on conditions with disturbance in water and sodium balance. Long-term research in the field of aquaporins and collaborator with Professor Peter Agre, who won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2003 for his discovery of Aquaporins. Basic and clinical studies using molecular physiology and pharmacology. Urine proteomics and urine ”fingerprinting” to develop new assays for disease screening.



  • Chairman of The Novo Nordisk Foundation Prize Committee (2017-)
  • Member of The Novo Nordisk Foundation Prize Committee (2016-)
  • Member of T he Novo Nordisk Foundation Committee for Clinical and Translational Res (2017-)
  • Chairman of the Danish Medical Research Council (2014-2016)
  • Vice-chair of the Danish Medical Research Council (2011-2014)
  • Member of the Board of Directors Grete Lundbeck Foundation European Brain Prize (2014-2016)
  • Member of the Program Committee of the Nordic Health and Welfare Program - Nordforsk (2013-)
  • Member of the Danish National Committee on Research Infrastructures (2013-2016)
  • Member of The Joint Committee of the Nordic Medical Research Councils (NOS-M) (2011-14)
  • Member of The Lundbeck Foundation Scientific Committee (2006-2012)
  • Member of the Steering Committee of EuroBioImaging (2009-2014)
  • Member of Executive Committee AU-IDEAS (2011-2015)
  • Member (Vice-chair) of the Board of Directors, Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies (2011-) Chairman of the Scientific Steering Committee of Danish 7T NMR project (2012-)
  • Member of the Academic Council, Health, Aarhus University (2012-)
  • Member International Scientific Advisory Board of Swedish BioImaging (2012-)
  • Member Hildur and Dagny Jakobsens Mindefond (2005-)
  • Member and Danish Representative, Biological and Medical Sciences Thematic Working Group of The European Commission’s Strategy Forum for Research Infrastructures (2007-2012)
  • Vice-chair Institute of Clinical Medicine, Faculty of Health, Aarhus University (2009-2012)


Awards and grants

  • The Hede Nielsen Research Prize (May 1994)
  • The Order of Odd Fellows Large Honorary Research Prize (April 2003)
  • Mathilde og Jeppe Juhls Mindelegat (August 2009)
  • Knighted by the Danish Queen (Ridder af Dannebrogsordenen) (August 2015)

Since 1990s continuously grants from The Danish Medical Research Council, Danish National Research Foundation – Center of Excellence Grant for establishment of The Water and Salt Research Center (2001-2011), EU QL 3.1.3 Programme (2001–2004), EU-COST-Action (2007- 2012), EU-ESFRI Euro-Bioimaging (2009-2014), Funding from private beneficiaries including The John and Birthe Meyer Foundation, The Karen Elise Jensen Foundation, and The Hede Nielsen Foundation.


Scientific supervision

1996 – 2012: >60 DSc, PhD and Master students. Main supervisor for > 15 PhD students and 15 Master students.


Editorial work

  • Member, Editorial Board, American Journal Physiology, Renal Physiology (2000-)
  • Member Editorial Board, Scandinavian Journal of Clinical and Laboratory Investigation (2003-)
  • Member Editorial Board, American Journal Physiology, Regulatory and Integrative Physiology (2007-)
  • Kidney Research and Clinical Practice (2012-); Physiological Reports (2013-)


Publication Statistics

More than 300 scientific peer review publications, including the a number of articles in the following high ranking journals:

  • Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A (6)
  • Am J Physiol (94)
  • J Am Soc Nephrol (5)
  • Kidney Int (8)
  • Phys Rev (1)
  • Ann Rev Phys (1)
  • J Clin Invest (2)
  • Science Trans Med (1)
  • J Nucl Med (6)Theranostics (1)
  • Diabetes (1)


Number of citations (Google Scholar) > 12000, H-index 60, i10-index 206; - (Scopus) > 8500, H-index: 53


Biotech experience

Co-founder of the Danish Biotech Company - Action Pharma in 2000. Company acquired by Abbott in 2012.             

”Action Pharma developed a number of lead candidates to protect against organ damage after ischemia reperfusion injury.”