Aarhus University Seal

Jan Rijkhoff

Word order in the Germanic languages

Research output: Contribution to book/anthology/report/proceedingBook chapterResearchpeer-review


  • Section for Linguistics
The Germanic branch of Indo-European consists of three main groups (Ruhlen 1987: 327):- East Germanic: Gothic, Vandalic, Burgundian (all extinct);- North Germanic (or: Scandinavian): Runic (extinct), Danish, Swedish, Norwegian, Icelandic, Faroese;- West Germanic: German, Yiddish, Luxembourgeois, Dutch, Afrikaans, Frisian, English.Here we will only consider the languages that are currently spoken in geographical Europe. Thus Afrikaans, which is spoken in South Africa, and the extinct languages Gothic, Vandalic, Burgundian, and Runic will not be taken into account (but see e.g. König & van der Auwera eds. 1994).
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationConstituent Order in the Languages of Europe
EditorsAnna Siewierska
Number of pages30
Place of publicationBerlin/New York
PublisherDe Gruyter Mouton
Publication year1998
ISBN (print)3-11-015152-9
Publication statusPublished - 1998
SeriesEmpirical Approaches to Language Typology 20-1

See relations at Aarhus University Citationformats

Download statistics

No data available

ID: 437268