Department of Law

Ellen Margrethe Basse


Curriculum Vitae



26 November 1948





2003Admitted as attorney-at-law
2000Jur.dr. (h.c.) Uppsala University
1987Dr. jur., Aarhus University
1974Cand. jur. (LL.M.), Aarhus University


Academic positions

1995-Professsor of environmental law, Department of Law, Aarhus BSS, Aarhus University (on leave 2002-2004 and 2008-2010)
1992-1995Professor of procedural law, Aarhus University
1989-1991Senior Associate Professor of public law, Aarhus University
1978-1989Asssociate Professor of public law, Aarhus University
1974-1978Assistant Professor of public law, Aarhus University


Research visits

2005-2015Visiting Professor at University of Georgia States University, Atlanta, USA 
1993-1998Visiting Professor at University of Florida, USA


Other full-time employment

2002-2004Junior Attorney, Kromann Reumert


Administrative experience

2008-2010Head of the Climate Secretariat / President of the Climate Panel, Aarhus University
2006-2008Head of the Executive Master in Environmental Law and Energy Law, Aarhus University
1992-2002Head of Centre for Social Science Research on the Environment (CeSaM)


Research areas

  • Environmental law
  • Climate law
  • Energy law
  • Arctic law


Teaching areas

At master's level:

  • Environmental law
  • Energy law
  • Climate law
  • Arctic law

At PhD-level:

  • Theory and methodology, etc.


Awards, grants, etc.

2004Knight of the Order of Dannebrog (awarded by HM the Queen)
2004Member of The Learned Society of Aarhus
2000Honorary Doctor, Uppsala University for research in environmental law and development of the Nordic research programme in environmental law
1996Member of the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters
1994Prize of honour from the Aarhus University Anniversary Foundation in recognition of social scientific research in the environment 


  • Board member, Aarhus Vand A/S
  • 1998-2001 Member of the European Council on Environmental Law
  • 1996-2002 Member of the Danish Council for Independent Research
  • 1985-1992 Member of "Statens Samfundsvidenskabelige Forskningsråd" (SSF) - (now: Danish Council for Independent Research | Social Sciences (FSE))


See more at