Crystal structure of a transfer-ribonucleoprotein particle that promotes asparagine formation

Mickaël Blaise, Marc Bailly, Mathieu Frechin, Manja Annette Behrens, Frédéric Fischer, Cristiano L P Oliveira, Hubert Dominique Becker, Jan Skov Pedersen, Søren Thirup, Daniel Kern

    Publikation: Bidrag til tidsskrift/Konferencebidrag i tidsskrift /Bidrag til avisTidsskriftartikelForskningpeer review


    Four out of the 22 aminoacyl-tRNAs (aa-tRNAs) are systematically or alternatively synthesized by an indirect, two-step route requiring an initial mischarging of the tRNA followed by tRNA-dependent conversion of the non-cognate amino acid. During tRNA-dependent asparagine formation, tRNA(Asn) promotes assembly of a ribonucleoprotein particle called transamidosome that allows channelling of the aa-tRNA from non-discriminating aspartyl-tRNA synthetase active site to the GatCAB amidotransferase site. The crystal structure of the Thermus thermophilus transamidosome determined at 3 A resolution reveals a particle formed by two GatCABs, two dimeric ND-AspRSs and four tRNAs(Asn) molecules. In the complex, only two tRNAs are bound in a functional state, whereas the two other ones act as an RNA scaffold enabling release of the asparaginyl-tRNA(Asn) without dissociation of the complex. We propose that the crystal structure represents a transient state of the transamidation reaction. The transamidosome constitutes a transfer-ribonucleoprotein particle in which tRNAs serve the function of both substrate and structural foundation for a large molecular machine.
    TidsskriftThe EMBO Journal
    Sider (fra-til)3118-29
    Antal sider12
    StatusUdgivet - 15 sep. 2010


    Dyk ned i forskningsemnerne om 'Crystal structure of a transfer-ribonucleoprotein particle that promotes asparagine formation'. Sammen danner de et unikt fingeraftryk.