Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Peter Gall Krogh



2013 -spring
Visiting Professor TU/Eindhoven,
Industrial Design, Designing quality in interaction

2012 - autumn
Visiting Professor Politecnico di Milano
Department of Design, Advanced Design

2010 -
Professor (full) Aarhus School of Architecture

2009 – 2010
Associate Professor Aarhus School of Architecture

2008 - 2009
Head of Innovation Interaction design, Alexandra Institute A/S

2004 - 2008
Associate Professor Aarhus School of Architecture

2001 -2003
Assistant Professor Aarhus School of Architecture

1998 – 2000
Research assistant Aarhus School of Architecture

1993 -1998
Industrial designer at Pelikan Design, Copenhagen and Raunkjær

Projects and management

• Head of DESIS lab in Aarhus (Design, Social Innovation and Sustainability)
• Head of the REform Platform at Aarhus School of Architecture: reform.aarch.dk
• Cluster promotor in DESIS for Distributed and open Production (DoP)
• Member of Centre for Strategic City research, with the interest of bridging design and
urban planning methods interests and techniques
• Head of AAA contribution to IT‐education at AU Science and Technology involving
4 senior researchers and teachers. (2007 – current)
• Prometheus, Partner manager of EU InterReg financed project (2015 – 2018).
In the academic career managing and co-­‐managing
research grants for more than Dkr. 30 mil with budget totals of more than Dkr. 70 mil.

Previous projects

Educational projects:
• Co-manager together with Professor Uffe Lentz of the educational program: Interactive Spaces, sponsered by the Ministry of Culture in Denmark. (1999-2000).
• Site-manager of the EU-funded Culture2000 educational program SPARK! (2002 – 2004). Entitled: Designing for unfortunate cities and regions – When traditional Industries leave, what will take its place?
• DemokraCity project together with Aarhus Municipality

Research projects:
• Project manager of AAA’s share of the EU-­funded WorkSPACE project under 5th Framework Program. (2001 – 2003). Other participants: Computer Science Aarhus University, Sociology Lancaster University
• Centre for Interactive Spaces, co-­manager, (2004 –2010), responsible for the AAA activities across the centre.
 - Excert of partners in the centre: B&O, LEGO, ARLA, Danfoss, Arkitema, Systematic, Terma, Microsoft Research, Teater Katapult, Kattegatcentret, Alexandra Institute, GN netcom, Design People, AQUA, Danfoss Universe.
 - Project Manager of “Fremtidens Hybride Bibliotek” (#112) and “Children’s Interactive Library” (#124).Supported by ISIS Katrinebjerg
 - Project manager of “[IXP] Interactive Experience Spaces” Supported by the Danish “IT-Korridor”.
 - Project participant in: the I-­Home project, the I-­School project and the Normadic Learning project.
 - Project participant in the iSport research project supported by ISIS Katrinebjerg (2007– 2009). Participants: Virklund Sports, Zentropa, MerCon, Active Institute, Computer Science Aarhus University.

-Design research Manager of the Mobile Home Centre project (2007 – 2010) sponsored By the Danish Advanced Technology Foundation. Participants: Computer Science Aarhus University, Alexandra Institute, Bang & Olufsen
-Constructive Design Research ‐ Developing design and architecture based Ph.D courses. Current course cover the notions of Hypothesis, Experiment and Evaluation (2011–2015).

Ph.D supervision

Supervision of 8 Ph.D’s (including 1 industrial Ph.D).
Chairing and serving as committee member both nationally and internationally in supervision and assessment of Ph.D’s.
Chairing Doctoral Colloquiums at conferences such as Designing Pleasurable Products
(2013) and Interfaces and Design Research Society (2014).
Developing and delivering Ph.D courses in Research Through Design (2012 - 2014).


• The Danish Design Award 2004: Vision prize for the interactive floor: iFloor
• Best paper Award OzChi 2004. Gitte Lindgaard award for “Help Me Pull That Cursor”, Co
authored with Andreas Lykke-­Olesen and Martin Ludvigsen.
• RED DOT award 2006. For the ”Knowledge well”.
• The Nordes best-­paper and best presentation award 2007.

Boards and committees

Coordination and planning:
-General board of SIGCHI.dk (2001– 2002)
-Appointed member of the research board at the Aarhus school of Architecture (2001 – 2002 &2011 – 2014)
-Managing board of Master Class for Professional Danish designers (2000 -­ 2002)
-Member of Nordes Board: www.nordes.org
-Member of National Ph.D board hosted by “Danske Universiteter” (RKU representative) 2010 – 2012

-Member of the organizing committee for the 4th decennial Aarhus Conference: www.aarhus2005.org
-Program co-­chair of the 1st Nordic conference on Design Research 2005
-Conference Program Committee member of: NODEM, Nordes, Tangible and Embodied Interaction, DPPI
-General Conference co-­chair DIS 2010
-DC chair of Praxis and Peotics 2013 (Newcastle)
-DC chair of DRS 2014 (Umeå)

Advisory Board:
-Executive invitation to The FUTURE OF INNOVATION SUMMIT (2015). A handful of globally recognized leaders in the field of innovation, come together for three days to discuss and shape the future of innovation. Invited by Banny Banerjee, ChangeLabs, Stanford University and Fawwaz Habbal, Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences.
-Member of Coordination Committee of Danish Centre for Design Research 2010 – 2012
-Member of SAAB (Scientific and Artistic Advisory Board) Aalto University 2012 – current
-Member of SAB: Research Centre: Internet of Things and People at Malmö University (directed by Paul Davidson and Jonas Löwgren)

-Current member of the Danish National censor corps for: (Mechanical) Engineering, Artistic
Educations, Information and Media Science. Thus I regularly serve as censor at Interaction, ITU; Service Design, Aalborg University; Medialogy, Aalborg University; Design, Royal Academy of Fine Arts
-Served as committee member on professorship positions: KADK, Kolding, Aalborg, Aalto University Helsinki, Swinburne University, Hong Kong Polytechnic.
-External Examiner of B.Sc. in Digital Media Design at University of Limerick, Ireland (2007-2011).
-Appointed reviewer of Italian design research assessment 2012.