Aarhus Universitet

Jayashree Sahana

Microgravity Affects Thyroid Cancer Cells during the TEXUS-53 Mission Stronger than Hypergravity

Publikation: Bidrag til tidsskrift/Konferencebidrag i tidsskrift /Bidrag til avisTidsskriftartikelForskningpeer review

DOI

  • Sascha Kopp, Clinic for Plastic, Aesthetic and Hand Surgery, Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg, Leipziger Str. 44, D-39120 Magdeburg, Germany. sascha.kopp@med.ovgu.de.
  • ,
  • Marcus Krüger, Clinic and Policlinic for Plastic, Aesthetic and Hand Surgery, Otto von Guericke University, Leipziger Str. 44, 39120 Magdeburg, Germany. marcus.krueger@med.ovgu.de.
  • ,
  • Johann Bauer, Max-Planck-Institute for Biochemistry Martinsried, 82152 Planegg, Germany. jbauer@biochem.mpg.de.
  • ,
  • Markus Wehland, Clinic and Policlinic for Plastic, Aesthetic and Hand Surgery, Otto von Guericke University, Leipziger Str. 44, 39120 Magdeburg, Germany. markus.wehland@med.ovgu.de.
  • ,
  • Thomas J Corydon
  • Jayashree Sahana
  • Mohamed Zakaria Nassef, Clinic for Plastic, Aesthetic and Hand Surgery, Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg, Leipziger Str. 44, D-39120 Magdeburg, Germany. mohamed.nassef@med.ovgu.de.
  • ,
  • Daniela Melnik, Clinic for Plastic, Aesthetic and Hand Surgery, Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg, Leipziger Str. 44, D-39120 Magdeburg, Germany. daniela.melnik@med.ovgu.de.
  • ,
  • Thomas J Bauer, Clinic for Plastic, Aesthetic and Hand Surgery, Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg, Leipziger Str. 44, D-39120 Magdeburg, Germany. thomas.bauer@med.ovgu.de.
  • ,
  • Herbert Schulz, Cologne Center for Genomics, University of Cologne, D-50931 Cologne, Germany. herbert.schulz@uni-koeln.de.
  • ,
  • Andreas Schütte, Airbus Defence and Space GmbH, Airbus-Allee 1, D-28199 Bremen, Germany. andreas.schuette@airbus.com.
  • ,
  • Burkhard Schmitz, Airbus Defence and Space GmbH, Airbus-Allee 1, D-28199 Bremen, Germany. burkhard.schmitz@airbus.com.
  • ,
  • Hergen Oltmann, Airbus Defence and Space GmbH, Airbus-Allee 1, D-28199 Bremen, Germany. hergen.oltmann@airbus.com.
  • ,
  • Stefan Feldmann, Airbus Defence and Space GmbH, Airbus-Allee 1, D-28199 Bremen, Germany. stefan.feldmann@airbus.com.
  • ,
  • Manfred Infanger, Clinic and Policlinic for Plastic, Aesthetic and Hand Surgery, Otto von Guericke University, Leipziger Str. 44, 39120 Magdeburg, Germany. manfred.infanger@med.ovgu.de.
  • ,
  • Daniela Grimm

Thyroid cancer is the most abundant tumor of the endocrine organs. Poorly differentiated thyroid cancer is still difficult to treat. Human cells exposed to long-term real (r-) and simulated (s-) microgravity (µg) revealed morphological alterations and changes in the expression profile of genes involved in several biological processes. The objective of this study was to examine the effects of short-term µg on poorly differentiated follicular thyroid cancer cells (FTC-133 cell line) resulting from 6 min of exposure to µg on a sounding rocket flight. As sounding rocket flights consist of several flight phases with different acceleration forces, rigorous control experiments are mandatory. Hypergravity (hyper-g) experiments were performed at 18g on a centrifuge in simulation of the rocket launch and s-µg was simulated by a random positioning machine (RPM). qPCR analyses of selected genes revealed no remarkable expression changes in controls as well as in hyper-g samples taken at the end of the first minute of launch. Using a centrifuge initiating 18g for 1 min, however, presented moderate gene expression changes, which were significant for COL1A1, VCL, CFL1, PTK2, IL6,CXCL8 and MMP14. We also identified a network of mutual interactions of the investigated genes and proteins by employing in-silico analyses. Lastly, µg-samples indicated that microgravity is a stronger regulator of gene expression than hyper-g.

OriginalsprogEngelsk
TidsskriftInternational Journal of Molecular Sciences
Vol/bind19
Nummer12
ISSN1661-6596
DOI
StatusUdgivet - 12 dec. 2018

Se relationer på Aarhus Universitet Citationsformater

ID: 138561674