Aarhus Universitets segl

Gregers Rom Andersen


Gregers Rom Andersen
Born 13/2/1967, Danish Citizen.


Academic Degree:

1995: PhD thesis in macromolecular crystallography, Department of Chemistry, Aarhus University (AU).


1995-1996: Post-doc in the macromolecular crystallography headed by professor Dino Moras at IGBMC, Université Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg, France.

1997-2000: Research Assistant Professor, Institute of Molecular and Structural Biology, Aarhus University.

2000-2002: Research Associate Professor, Institute of Molecular and Structural Biology, Aarhus University.

2002-2012: Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Biology, Aarhus university.


Professor, Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics, AU



2005- Danish National Committee for Crystallography

2005-2009 Board of Dansync/Danscatt

2005-2008 Nordsync delegate at the ESRF (EuropeanSynchrotron Radiation Facility, Grenoble) council, Chairman of the Nordsyncdelegation in 2007

2007-2009 Chairman of the teaching committee at theDepartment of Molecular Biology

2007-2012 Chairman of the Danish National Committee forCrystallography

2011- EMBO member

2013- Management board of the Department of MolecularBiology and Genetics, AU




Scientific summary. Structural biology and in particularcrystallography, small angle scattering and electron microscopy applied tolarge macromolecules and their complexes. The main biological focus ison components of the innate immune system in order to discover the molecularbasis of detecting and responding to exogenous and endogenous danger signals.Both soluble proteins and membrane bound proteins are investigated. Inaddition, inhibitor development based on atomic structures is pursued with theaim of controlling both acute and chronic inflammatory conditions.


Ongoing internationalcollaborations:. Dr Klaus Hviid Nielsen, University of Chicago (helicases).Lubka Roumenina &Veronique Fremeaux-Bacchi, Paris (complement activation). AlexionPharmaceuticals, Conneticut (complement inhibitors).



2009-2014. Hallas-Møller stipend awarded by the Novo-NordiskFoundation.