Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Eva B. Vedel Jensen

Professor emeritus, Centerleder

Curriculum Vitae

Date of Birth: 14 June 1951.


Positions: Affiliated to Department of Mathematical Sciences, University of Aarhus, as Associate Professor 1979-1989, Docent 1989-1998, Research Professor 1998-2003 and Professor since 2003.


Degrees: D.Sc. (dr.scient.), University of Aarhus, 1987.


Research Interests: Stereology, Stochastic Geometry, Spatial Statistics, Integral Geometry, Geometric Probability, Geometric Measure Theory and Geometry.


Scientific Works: Two research monographs and 93 papers.


A Collection of Invited Addresses since 2002: 5th European Conference of the European Society for Mathematical and Theoretical Biology, Milano 2002, EMS-SMAI-SMF Joint Conference on Applied Mathematics, Nice 2003, International Conference on Spatial Point Process Modelling and its Applications, Castellon 2004, 24th Nordic Congress of Mathematics, Reykjavik 2005, 26th European Meeting of Statisticians, Torun 2006, 12th International Congress of Stereology, St. Etienne 2007, Stochastics Meeting, Lunteren 2008, 33rd Conference on Stochastic Processes and Their Applications, Berlin 2009.


Organisation of Scientific Meetings: Organizer of more than 10 international conferences, workshops and summer schools.


Awards: 1999 Direktør Ib Henriksens research award, 200.000 kr., 2009 Villum Kann Rasmussens årslegat, 2.500.000 kr.


Research Grants: A total of 12 research grants. Recently, coordinator of Marie Curie training site (240.000 Euro, 2002-2006), a postdoc grant from the Carlsberg Foundation (3.517.182 kr., 2004-2007), a grant from the Danish Council for Strategic Research (7.931.760 kr., 2007-2010) and a grant from the Villum Foundation (25.000.000 kr., 2010-2015, Centre for Stochastic Geometry and Advanced Bioimaging).


Postgraduate Supervision: PhD's: Jesper Møller (1985-1988), Kiên Kiêu (1988-1992), Jørgen Nielsen (1995-1999), Karl-Anton Dorph-Petersen (1997-2001), Asger Hobolth (1998-2002), Linda Stougaard Nielsen (1999-2001), Kristjana Jonsdottir (2003-2006), Thordis Thorarinsdottir (2003-2006), Jesper Frandsen (2005-2009), Gunnar Hellmund (2006-2009), Johanna Ziegel (2006-2009), Rasmus Engholm (2006-2010), Jérémy Auneau (2007-), Linda V. Hansen (2007-), Allan Rasmusson (2008-), Emil Hedevang (2009-). In addition, I have supervised a number (about 25) of master thesis students.


Professional Societies and Commissions: Member of International Society for Stereology, the International Statistical Institute, Bernoulli Society, the Danish Society for Theoretical Statistics. Chairman of Committee for Geometrical Statistics under ISS, 1984-87. Member of the Council of Danish Society for Theoretical Statistics, 1993-1997. Elected member of International Statistical Institute, 1992-. Member of the European Regional Committee 2004-2008, and the Council of the Bernoulli Society, 2005-2009.

Editorial Positions: Member of the editorial board of the Stochastic Geometry and Statistical Applications section of Advances in Applied Probability, 1994-2007. Coordinating editor of the Stochastic Geometry and Statistical Applications section of Advances in Applied Probability, 1999-2004. Associate editor of Bernoulli, 2005-2008. Associate editor of Statistica Sineca, 2008-.


Administrative Research Positions/Scientific leadership: Chairman of the Department of Theoretical Statistics, University of Aarhus, 1986-87. Scientific director of Laboratory for Computational Stochastics, AU, 1997-2004. Principal investigator, MaPhySto, AU, 1998-2004. Member of the Research Committee of the Faculty of Natural Science, University of Aarhus, 2001. Member of the Danish Natural Science Research Council, 2001-2007. Coordinator of the Marie Curie Training Site Advanced Medical Imaging and Spatial Statistics: MISS, 2002-2006. Member of the board of the Danish Centre of Scientific Computing, 2003-2007. Vicedirector of the Department of Mathematical Sciences, University of Aarhus,  2004-. Scientific director of the Thiele Centre for Applied Mathematics in the Natural Sciences, AU, 2004-2009. Member of the PhD Committee, Faculty of Science, AU, 2008-. Scientific director of Centre for Stochastic Geometry and Advanced Bioimaging, 2010-2015. Coordinator of New Neuroimaging Methods at the MINDLab (UNIK) initiative, 2009-.