European Association for South East Asian Studies (EuroSEAS) (Ekstern organisation)

Aktivitet: Medlemsskab - typerMedlemskab af forskningsnetværk

Se relationer på Aarhus Universitet

Michael Eilenberg - Medlem

The European Association for South East Asian Studies (EuroSEAS) is an international initiative to foster scholarly cooperation within Europe in the field of Southeast Asian studies. It was founded in 1992 and it is the only pan-European scientific organization dedicated to Southeast Asian studies. EuroSEAS members work in all areas of humanities and social sciences, from archeology to economics, from anthropology to linguistics. The Association is governed by a Board, elected every three years, composed by 9 members and 9 deputy members, plus the Chairperson and the Secretary. The Secretariat provides coordination for the ongoing activities and manages the financial resources. At present the Secretariat is hosted by the Technical University of Lisbon, at the School of Social and Political Sciences - ISCSP, Lisbon. The Chairperson is the legal representative of the association and presides the Board. The EuroSEAS Chairmen have been: Tommy Svensson (NIAS), 1998–2001; Anne Booth (SOAS) 2001–04; Pierre-Yves Manguin (EFEO), 2004–07; Pietro Masina (University of Naples "L'Orientale") 2007-10. The current Chairperson for the period 2010–13 is Susane Schroeter (Goethe-University Frankfurt). The main EuroSEAS activity is the organization of an international conference bringing together hundreds of specialists of Southeast Asia from all over the world. The first 6 conferences were held respectively in Leiden, 1995; Hamburg, 1998; London, 2001; Paris, 2004; Naples, 2007 and Gothenburg, 2010. The 7th conference will take place in Lisbon in July 2013.

Board Member, Nordic Countries

Ekstern organisation

NavnEuropean Association for South East Asian Studies (EuroSEAS)

ID: 45873497