The Effect of Lean-Seafood and Non-Seafood Diets on Fasting and Postprandial Serum Metabolites and Lipid Species: Results from a Randomized Crossover Intervention Study in Healthy Adults

Publikation: Bidrag til tidsskrift/Konferencebidrag i tidsskrift /Bidrag til avisTidsskriftartikel

DOI

  • Mette Schmedes
  • Claudia Balderas, Institute of Food Science, Technology and Nutrition (ICTAN), Spanish National Research Council (CSIC), ES-28040 Madrid, Spain. c.balderas@ictan.csic.es., Eli Kristin Aadland, Faculty of Education, Western Norway University of Applied Sciences, 5063 Bergen, Norway. Eli.Kristin.Aadland@hvl.no., Hélène Jacques, School of Nutrition, Université Laval, Laval, G1V 0A6 QC, Canada. Helene.Jacques@fsaa.ulaval.ca., Charles Lavigne, Institute of Marine Research, 5817 Bergen, Norway. charles.lavigne@videotron.ca., Ingvild Eide Graff, Institute of Marine Research, 5817 Bergen, Norway. ingvild.graff@uni.no., Øyvin Eng, Hormone Laboratory, Haukeland University Hospital, 5021 Bergen, Norway. oyvin_eng@hotmail.com., Asle Holthe, Faculty of Education, Western Norway University of Applied Sciences, 5063 Bergen, Norway. Asle.Holthe@hvl.no., Gunnar Mellgren, Department of Clinical Science, University of Bergen, 5020 Bergen, Norway. gunnar.mellgren@med.uib.no.,
  • Jette Feveile Young
  • Ulrik Kræmer Sundekilde
  • Bjørn Liaset, Institute of Marine Research, 5817 Bergen, Norway. Bjorn.Liaset@hi.no.,
  • Hanne Christine Bertram

The metabolic effects associated with intake of different dietary protein sources are not well characterized. We aimed to elucidate how two diets that varied in main protein sources affected the fasting and postprandial serum metabolites and lipid species. In a randomized controlled trial with crossover design, healthy adults (n = 20) underwent a 4-week intervention with two balanced diets that varied mainly in protein source (lean-seafood versus non-seafood proteins). Nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy and liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry analyses were applied to examine the effects of the two diets on serum metabolites. In the fasting state, the lean-seafood diet period, as opposed to the non-seafood diet period, significantly decreased the serum levels of isoleucine and valine, and during the postprandial state, a decreased level of lactate and increased levels of citrate and trimethylamine N-oxide were observed. The non-seafood diet significantly increased the fasting level of 26 lipid species including ceramides 18:1/14:0 and 18:1/23:0 and lysophosphatidylcholines 20:4 and 22:5, as compared to the lean-seafood diet. Thus, the lean-seafood diet decreased circulating isoleucine and valine levels, whereas the non-seafood diet elevated the levels of certain ceramides, metabolites that are associated with insulin-resistance.

OriginalsprogEngelsk
Artikelnummer598
TidsskriftNutrients
Vol/bind10
Tidsskriftsnummer5
Antal sider16
ISSN2072-6643
DOI
StatusUdgivet - 11 maj 2018

    Forskningsområder

  • Postprandial, seafood protein, METABOLISM, TMAO

Se relationer på Aarhus Universitet Citationsformater

ID: 127092995